Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga is an ancient practice that teaches you how to focus your energy and use it to change your life. The technique is effective because it includes both the physical asana and spiritual aspects of yoga.

The postures of Kundalini yoga are designed to strengthen the nerves and glands, as well as the lymphatic and circulatory systems. Pranayama is an important aspect of Kundalini yoga since it helps to promote serenity and harmony by changing the brain chemistry for the better. All of the techniques used in this yoga serve to restore the body’s meridian points and chakras. This aids in the release of the body’s dormant energy and light.

Read on to learn more about Kundalini yoga, the seven chakras, the possible advantages, how it varies from other types of yoga, and how kundalini yoga poses can assist to activate it.

What Is Kundalini Yoga?

“Kundalini” is derived from the Sanskrit word “kundal,” which means “circle.” It can also apply to a coiled snake. Kundalini energy, according to practitioners, is like that coiled snake- it sleeps at the base of your spine, unstimulated.

Kundalini yoga is used to activate the life energy (prana), allowing it to flow up and down your spine through the chakras. According to yoga, your body’s seven energy centres are known as chakras. Among them are as following:

What Are The Body’s Main Chakras?

There are seven main chakras in our body. The goal of Kundalini yoga is to realign one’s chakras to release dormant energy and become more awake, aware, and intuitive people. The seven chakras are as follows:

  1. Root Chakra or Muladhara Chakra (Color: Red)

The feeling of being grounded is symbolized by the root chakra, which is located at the base of the spine. The root chakra is in charge of giving you a sense of stability and security.

  1. Sacral chakra or Svadhisthana Chakra (Color: Red)

The sacral chakra, located below the belly button, represents our ability to welcome others and new experiences, as well as our sexual and creative energy.

  1. Solar plexus chakra or Manipura Chakra (Color: Yellow)

The solar plexus chakra, which is located in the stomach area, represents our ability to be self-assured and in control of our lives. It’s in charge of giving you a sense of control over your life, self-worth, and confidence.

  1. Heart Chakra or Anahata Chakra (Color: Green)

The heart chakra, which is located in the center of the chest, represents the power to love, compassion, empathy, and forgiveness.

  1. Throat chakra or Vishuddha Chakra (Color: Blue)

The throat chakra is located near the base of the neck. It is in charge of communication, self-expression, and the ability to speak your true self.

  1. Third eye chakra or Ajna Chakra (Color: Indigo)

The third eye chakra, which is located between the eyes, represents the ability to focus and see the big picture.

  1. Crown chakra or Sahasrara Chakra (Color: Violet)

The crown chakra, which is placed at the top of the head, reflects our spiritual ability to be fully connected.

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga Poses

  • Improves cognitive function: Kundalini yoga improved cognition, memory, and mood.
  • Relieves stress: Kundalini yoga can aid in the reduction of stress and anxiety.
  • Increases flexibility: Kundalini yoga sessions increased flexibility greatly.
  • Reduces symptoms of depression: Anxiety and depression can be reduced by Kundalini yoga.
  • Spiritual enlightenment: As your Kundalini energy grows stronger, you become more spiritually connected to yourself and others.

How to Do Kundalini Yoga

The six main components of Kundalini yoga are performed in the following order:

  • Opening chant: Kundalini yoga classes begin with an opening mantra, commonly known as tuning in.
  • Pranayama or warmup: You’ll conduct pranayama (breathing exercises) and sometimes motions to extend your spine. Pranayama is a technique for practicing breath control.
  • Kriya: A kriya is a set of postures, breathing exercises, mudras (hand positions), music, and meditation exercises. Your instructor determines the length and intensity of the kriya.
  • Relaxation: Relaxation enables the kriya’s effects to be absorbed by your body and mind.
  • Meditation: Your instructor will lead you through a meditation to help you develop awareness.
  • Closing chant: A closing chant concludes the Kundalini yoga class.

Kundalini Yoga Poses

After learning about the chakras in the body and their advantages, it’s time to figure out which yoga poses can help you activate each one. As a result, below are some kundalini yoga asanas that can assist in chakra awakening:

  1. Malasana (Yogi Squat): Balance, concentration, and focus are all improved with the Malasana. It activates the Root Chakra.
  2. Mandukasana (Frog Pose): Frog Pose can help with hip mobility and back problems. Sacral Chakra is activated by it.
  3. Dhanurasana (Bow Pose): The bow pose activates the Solar Plexus Chakra and opens up the hip flexors.
  4. Ustrasana (Camel Pose): Camel Pose helps to promote spinal mobility while also stimulating the Heart Chakra.
  5. Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose): The Cobra Pose is beneficial for increasing lower back flexibility and alleviating back pain. It stimulates the Throat Chakra.
  6. Balasana (Child’s Pose): Child’s pose assists in releasing chest strain. It awakens the Third Eye Chakra.
  7. Shatkarmas (Sat Kriya): Sat Kriya is the foundation of Kundalini Yoga. It stimulates and channels the kundalini energy directly. It activates the Crown Chakra.


Kundalini yoga is a spiritual practice and an ancient technology that combines a series of physical postures, chanting, and unique breathing methods are known as Kriyas to help the spiritual energy at the base of the spine rise and align. Kundalini yoga can help to increase life energy (prana) and vitality, as well as create room for a spiritual or Kundalini awakening.

By admin